Hi from San Jose, California

Pilot? Student pilot? Future pilot? Interested in learning to fly? If you're reading this forum, you've got flying in your blood! SportPilotTalk is a great place to ask questions about this exciting new segment of (more) affordable aviation!

Moderator: drseti

krish

Hi from San Jose, California

Post by krish »

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie seriously thinking about getting a SPL or PPL. I've been on discovery flights several times over the past several years :)

I'm a avid model airplane hobbyist. I build an fly model airplanes, mostly electric. My fastest flying wing was clocked at 168 mph. I also know the principles of flight, aerodynamics, jargons etc because the model airplanes fly pretty much like regular airplanes (except I have more than 1:1 thrust to weight ratio in my planes). I guess my love towards flying machines is now progressing into flyling real airplanes.

I'm currently attending ground school at Tradewind Aviation in Reid-hillview (KRHV) airport. I also purchased the training kit (videos and stuff) from sporty's to get a better hang on what's in store for me as a pilot.

I'm looking to get trained with a CTLS, I think I saw a CTLS at KRHV but not sure whether it is available for training.

Will post more as and when I progress to the next step.

Happy flying !!!
Krish
drseti

Post by drseti »

Welcome aboard, Krish! I lived most of my adult life in San Jose (moved East 21 years ago, and am now semi-retired in rural central PA). Flew out of RHV for years (including training with the legendary Amelia Reid), and was one of the original members of Frazier Lake Airpark (1C9) in Hollister. Still have a hangar there, and get out a couple of times a year.

I understand that AeroDynamic (formerly Amelia's) has a couple of Evektor SportStars, same trainer I use in my flight school (and a great way to learn to fly).

Safe skies,
Paul