Light Sport Safety

This forum is for safety-related discussions. Be safe out there!

Moderator: drseti

propilot512

Light Sport Safety

Post by propilot512 »

Hello everyone, I am new to the forum. I am a Grad student and CFI in South Florida trying to gather Pilots feedback on LSA training and safety records to write my Thesis paper. The survey takes less then a minute and there is no personal information to enter. If anyone is willing to be interviewed or wants to provide a comment, I would like to include them in my Thesis as additional pilot feedback. I would also be happy to share my findings with the forum if anyone wants to find out how the aviation community feels about LSA. My goal is to promote LSA as a new means of flying safely at an economical price. Thanks

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/aviationsafety
CharlieTango

Post by CharlieTango »

i took the survey but i don't think it will paint a fair picture of lsa safety.

in many ways lsa (at least some of them) require more skill to fly and there is more risk. on the other hand the skill required increases proficiency and awareness and makes the lsa pilot safer.

some of each.
Pawlander

Post by Pawlander »

ProPilot512, please understand this reply is meant in the spirit of constructiveness. I think the results from your survey instrument, as currently worded, will be meaningless because of incorrect phrasing that will mean different things to different people who participate.

Your survey instrument seems to confuse the terms "Sport Pilot" and "Light Sport Aircraft" and you created a new term "Light Sport Pilot" for your questions and that is ambiguous.

Pilots can be trained as "Sport Pilot." They can also be trained and licensed as anything up to ATP but exercising the privileges of a "Sport Pilot," allowing them to fly without a current medical, but they have to follow the rules that a person licensed as a Sport Pilot has to follow.