Hello form Shady Shores Tx

Pilot? Student pilot? Future pilot? Interested in learning to fly? If you're reading this forum, you've got flying in your blood! SportPilotTalk is a great place to ask questions about this exciting new segment of (more) affordable aviation!

Moderator: drseti

DarrinT

Hello form Shady Shores Tx

Post by DarrinT »

Hello
I'm Darrin from just south of Denton Tx, I'm a 53 year old Student Pilot working on my SP Certificate.
I have a question that maybe some one can point me to where I can find the the answer. If I bought a plane registered as an Experimental such as a Challenger or an Rans s12 that qualifies as a LSA or ELSA. Can I fly it under a SP Certificate or does it have to be registers as a LSA. I read that planes can be re-registered but I also see read that planes that were considered a FAT ultra light had a deadline that has well sense passed to register as an LSA. I would hate to buy something to only find out that I can't fly it with out a PP certificate.
TimTaylor

Re: Hello form Shady Shores Tx

Post by TimTaylor »

You can fly an ultralight without a pilot certificate. You need a Sport Pilot certificate or higher to fly an LSA. There was a drop-dead date by which the two-seat ultralights had to be registered as LSA. If they were not, they can't be flown by anyone. At least that's my understanding.

There are several types of LSA including SLSA and ESLA. Any of these require a Sport Pilot certificate or higher to fly and each has it's own set of restrictions. A Sport Pilot can fly any legal LSA as long as he has an endorsement for that type, such as fixed wing, gyro, glider, etc.

Just be careful that you don't buy a 2 seat ultralight that was never registered as an LSA. There may still be some that can be used at trainers, IDK.

You can the information on FAA, AOPA, and EAA sites.
Retired from flying.
3Dreaming

Post by 3Dreaming »

DarrinT wrote:Hello