Hello from Texas

Pilot? Student pilot? Future pilot? Interested in learning to fly? If you're reading this forum, you've got flying in your blood! SportPilotTalk is a great place to ask questions about this exciting new segment of (more) affordable aviation!

Moderator: drseti

flying_man

Hello from Texas

Post by flying_man »

Hi everyone. I'm from Houston, temporarily(?) living in Austin. I used to be obsessed with airplanes and flying as a kid, taking a few discovery flights when I was 11 (Grumman) and 13 (Cessna) in Houston.
My plans to become an airline pilot faded away by the time I graduated high school and then went off to get a B. Of Architecture in 2008. I just passed my final (of 7) architect registration exams and am in the works to start my office.
I'm 30 now and have been lurking around to see what's changed in general aviation since I stopped being current... WOW! So much has changed. The whole SPL and LSA thing blew up during my absence and I've been catching up over the last year. Not to mention the glass cockpit everywhere.
I'm hoping to start flying lessons within the next two years, considering starting with SPL first and then finish off for a PPL. My aim is to just travel the country a little here and there throughout the seasons and enjoy the sights and food.
I prefer low-wing planes and have not been disappointed with the options. My initial interests so far are the Arion lightning, Vans RV-12/14, and Bristell (my favorite so far). I just learned about the KLA-100 as well today on this forum. Let's hope business goes well, or that I win the lotto :roll:
Hope to keep being surprised as I head towards that SPL.
TimTaylor

Re: Hello from Texas

Post by TimTaylor »