New to Sport Pilot Talk

Pilot? Student pilot? Future pilot? Interested in learning to fly? If you're reading this forum, you've got flying in your blood! SportPilotTalk is a great place to ask questions about this exciting new segment of (more) affordable aviation!

Moderator: drseti

TenSeven

New to Sport Pilot Talk

Post by TenSeven »

Hi everyone.

I'm a 57 y/o retired Firefighter and lifelong Aviation enthusiast.

25 years ago I was a Student Pilot working towards my PPL. Unfortunately, my training came to a close before I earned my ticket. The major factor that led to me quitting was a long, drawn out, training schedule that lasted well over a year (I've read that it is the number one reason students drop out of flight training). My instructor and I could not keep a consistently jiving schedule. Sometimes I flew once a month, and a chunk of that time would often be spent going back over the stuff from last months single flight. I began to dread the 'long and lonely' drive to the Airport. Instead of getting a different instructor, like I should have (my instructor was a friend of mine), I trudged on way too long, became frustrated, and quit. Still a bummer for me to think about and I vowed, not if, but when, I pursued a Pilots License again, it would be under completely different circumstances.

Fast forward 25 years, I still love Aviation. I'm the guy looking up at the plane in the distance when someone is trying to have a conversation with me. My wife and I have spent the entire week at Osh enough times that it has become a 'family event' for relatives to come together. The EAA grounds are like home to me and AirVenture is my favorite playground (my usual m.o. is to leave at 6am and return in time for dinner, my wife happily hangs out with her relatives).