Hello From Seattle

Pilot? Student pilot? Future pilot? Interested in learning to fly? If you're reading this forum, you've got flying in your blood! SportPilotTalk is a great place to ask questions about this exciting new segment of (more) affordable aviation!

Moderator: drseti

zdsweet

Hello From Seattle

Post by zdsweet »

Hey all,

I am a 16 year old who loves aviation, and has since I was given a model of a 737 when I was two years old. My first ride that wasn't a commercial jet was in a Stinson when I was 7. It was a blast and I knew from that point on that I would want to be a pilot as a profession. From when I was 7 to when I was 13ish...I flew a lot with him, and I still do now, in a Maule M5. When I was 14, I went to california to visit my great uncle, who is a charter pilot in a Beechcraft Kingair 200. He flies the owner of Sierra Nevada brewery to his vacation home in Montana a lot. So, him being a pilot, I had to get a ride. We went up, and he handed me the controls right after we rotated. I had over 400 hours on Microsoft Flight Simulator at the time and had flown in the Stinson a lot, so I was comfortable, and it was FAST. :o I flew around Chico, and then assumed he was going to take it to land. But I realized I was on approach for the runway. He asked me to put in flaps or we'd have to go around! :) So I took the oppurtunity, made sure I was on glide slope with the PAPIs and landed. That was a confidence booster! When July of last summer came up, I was anxious to go to Arlington. I had flown into the airshow there before in the Stinson and loved the experience. When I was there, I flew my R/C planes at the field they had set up. That night, I was offered a ride in a Sting Sport. I went up with Grant Smith, a great CFI from Seattle, and did 2 successfull touch and gos by myself, and from all my experience on Boston Virtual ATC (an online server on FSX for realistic ATC flying and unicom) (www.bostonvirtualatc.com), I also did most of the communicati