Written Test Question

Sport aviation is growing rapidly. But the new sport pilot / light-sport aircraft rules are still a mystery to many flight schools and instructors. To locate a flight school offering sport pilot training and/or light-sport aircraft rentals, click on the "Flight School And Rental Finder" tab above. This is a great place to share ideas on learning to fly, flight schools, costs and anything else related to training.

Moderator: drseti

rdebord

Written Test Question

Post by rdebord »

Greetings
I am studying for my sport pilot airplane written test. I am using both the Gleim book and the asa test prep software. There is 1 question that is referenced in both where they have different answers as correct. Here is the question and possible answers.

What is the effect of advancing the throttle in flight?

A) Both aircraft ground speed and angle of attack will increase.
B) Airspeed will remain relatively constant but the aircraft will climb.
C) The aircraft will accelerate, which will cause a turn to the right.

According to Gleim the correct answer is A
According to ASA prepware the correct answer is B

I called ASA and talked to them and they said Gleim is not wrong and we are not wrong it is just different wording of the question. I told him the wording was exactly the same the only difference was the answers. He did not want to hear that and kept repeating neither of them had the wrong answer.
Can anyone shed any light on what answer the FAA considers to be correct?
Thanks
3Dreaming

Re: Written Test Question

Post by 3Dreaming »

I'm not sure which answer the FAA wants, but here is what happens and why.