Piper Sport - Help

Sport aviation is growing rapidly. But the new sport pilot / light-sport aircraft rules are still a mystery to many flight schools and instructors. To locate a flight school offering sport pilot training and/or light-sport aircraft rentals, click on the "Flight School And Rental Finder" tab above. This is a great place to share ideas on learning to fly, flight schools, costs and anything else related to training.

Moderator: drseti

FrankR

Piper Sport - Help

Post by FrankR »

Need some help...

I'm checking out on a Piper Sport and I'm having some trouble. Three dual hours and I don't have it yet.

I'm having trouble holding attitude, altitude, and airspeed. I'm up and down like a (fill in your cliché here).

I am doing this training at Palomar, near San Diego. The sight picture over uneven terrain is a bit of a challenge.

I'm a low time pilot (<100 hrs); at a new airport; with a new airplane. I'm good with theory, regulations, and procedures. I just have a problem with Stick and Rudder.

My primary CFI, back in NC, with lots of hours, told me that he had similar problems with the Czech Sportstar (same plane, I think).

Thoughts and experience?
Frank
Fayetteville, NC
CharlieTango

Re: Piper Sport - Help

Post by CharlieTango »

Convective activity in the west makes light sport hard to maintain altitude. If this is part of the problem, try early morning.

Speed should be less of an issue, pitch trim should be the answer, trim and fly without pressure on the stick.

To maintain altitude scan frequently and adjust before the altitude changes much.
MrMorden

Post by MrMorden »