Flight schools and social networking

Sport aviation is growing rapidly. But the new sport pilot / light-sport aircraft rules are still a mystery to many flight schools and instructors. To locate a flight school offering sport pilot training and/or light-sport aircraft rentals, click on the "Flight School And Rental Finder" tab above. This is a great place to share ideas on learning to fly, flight schools, costs and anything else related to training.

Moderator: drseti

drseti

Flight schools and social networking

Post by drseti »

OK, I'll admit this up front: I'm not of the Facebook generation, and I'm a novice at social networking. Fortunately, my airport is right next door to Lock Haven University, and the students there are Facebook savvy.

Although I created an AvSport Facebook page almost four years ago, I've been too busy flying, instructing, and keeping planes flying to do much with it. I do post airport social events, safety seminars, and course schedules to our website, but that apparently only reaches the Usual Suspects.

Yesterday, I met with a business major at the university to discuss social networking strategy, something about which he knows more than I. The result is, we're trying to update and revitalize the AvSport Facebook page. See:

http://facebook.com/SportFlying

and let me know what you think. (Oh, and in the Facebook parlance I'm just learning, please Like us!)
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV
[email protected]
AvSport.org
facebook.com/SportFlying
SportPilotExaminer.US
Merlinspop

Re: Flight schools and social networking

Post by Merlinspop »

drseti wrote: (Oh, and in the Facebook parlance I'm just learning, please Like us!)
Done!
- Bruce
Merlinspop

Post by Merlinspop »

Your FB page is a nice start. Try to get some pictures with more "Facebook Demographic" folks in it. :|
- Bruce
drseti