Sportstar -takeoff and landing distances hi density altitude

Sport aviation is growing rapidly. But the new sport pilot / light-sport aircraft rules are still a mystery to many flight schools and instructors. To locate a flight school offering sport pilot training and/or light-sport aircraft rentals, click on the "Flight School And Rental Finder" tab above. This is a great place to share ideas on learning to fly, flight schools, costs and anything else related to training.

Moderator: drseti

jandras

Sportstar -takeoff and landing distances hi density altitude

Post by jandras »

As best as I can tell, the POH for the Evektor Sportstar only gives takeoff and landing distances for a sea level field ("0 ft ISA"). See sections 5.2.3 and 5.2.4 of the following POH:

http://www.aerodynamicaviation.com/docu ... %20POH.pdf

I'm a student and I'm planning a flight from a low level airport (John Wayne SNA) to a mountain airport (Big Bear L35) and need to determine the takeoff run and landing distances for a density altitude of 8,000 ft.

How do I find or calculate distances for a DA of 8,000? I see percentage adjustments for tail wind and runway inclination, but nothing for altitude.

Thanks!
drseti

Re: Sportstar -takeoff and landing distances hi density alti

Post by drseti »

See my charts on these pages:

TO distances http://avsport.org/acft/SportStar_takeoff_distances.htm

Landing distances http://avsport.org/acft/SportStar_landing_distances.htm

Note that these are the kind of charts that are required to be in the POH for a certified aircraft. Unfortunately, for an LSA, the AOI requirements are somewhat less rigorous.
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV
[email protected]
AvSport.org
facebook.com/SportFlying
SportPilotExaminer.US
CharlieTango

Post by CharlieTango »

jandras,