New (to me) RV-12

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

hook_dupin

New (to me) RV-12

Post by hook_dupin »

I've been a flight instructor as my side-hustle for some years now.

After a bunch of research (and numerous calls to Helen at Chesapeake Sport Pilot), I decided to take the plunge on a used S-LSA RV-12 to use as a trainer. My wife and I did the Carpenter's long course a few months ago as a "nerd vacation."

I really see more private pilot students than sport pilot students, but there is a Sport DPE in my area who seems like he's under worked.

This pretty girl will be ferried home to the Florida Gulf Coast on the April 14th weekend.

I'm pretty excited to have maintenance control over the aircraft I'm teaching in, as I haven't always been a fan of the maintenance at places I've taught.
IMG_1264.JPG
IMG_1264.JPG (52.29 KiB) Viewed 5969 times
IMG_1258.JPG
IMG_1258.JPG (45.97 KiB) Viewed 5969 times
IMG_1257.JPG
IMG_1257.JPG (49.93 KiB) Viewed 5969 times
Wm.Ince

Re: New (to me) RV-12

Post by Wm.Ince »

Congratulations!
That's a pretty little airplane.
Bill Ince
LSRI
Retired Heavy Equipment Operator
RTK

Post by RTK »

Congratulations! Beautiful! And you can’t go wrong with Vans aircraft!
TimTaylor

Post by TimTaylor »

If I had the money to spend, that would be my first choice.
Retired from flying.
cam737

Post by cam737 »

Beautiful! Love the paint. Congrats!!
cam737
Sling 2 Build
[email protected]

swa
RV-12builder

Post by RV-12builder »

Congratulations! Nice paint and interior colors.
ShawnM

Post by ShawnM »

She's a beauty for sure, congrats.
WDD

Post by WDD »

[quote="hook_dupin"]

Congrats! Quick question - what is the "Carpenter's Long Course"?
3Dreaming

Post by 3Dreaming »

WDD wrote: