Sirius TL-3000

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

FlyingBliss

Sirius TL-3000

Post by FlyingBliss »

I'm a student pilot working toward my SP certificate and I'm starting to take a look at some of the LSA options that I may consider for purchase later this year. Clearly I'll need to spend a fair amount of time on demo flights before I can have an inclination as to which plane I truly enjoy flying, but, the more I read about the Sirius TL-3000 the more I really like this plane. I've read a number of articles about the TL-3000 (AOPA, Plane & Pilot, Aerospace Tech, etc.) and I can't seem to find any downside to this plane. I love the high-wing, decent empty weight for its size, rotax 912is (option for 914), toe brakes (trained on C172), yolk, ailerons/flaps/elevator, 116 knot cruise, their US distributor, SportairUSA, seems to have a good reputation, etc. Does anyone on this forum have experience flying the TL-3000? I'd love to hear your feedback. What are some of the challenges associated with this plane? I'm just looking for a balanced view, as there must be some cons to go along with all of the pros that I've read about this plane.

This is my first post on Sport Pilot Talk and I look forward to getting to know everyone.
Private Pilot looking for a flying machine to call my own
drseti

Re: Sirius TL-3000

Post by drseti »

FlyingBliss wrote: This is my first post on Sport Pilot Talk and I look forward to getting to know everyone.
Welcome aboard! There's a great bunch of folks here who are looking forward to getting to know you as well.
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV