Rotax engine questions

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

Nomore767

Rotax engine questions

Post by Nomore767 »

I've got limited experience with Rotax 912 series engines, and that is as a renter, not an owner:-

1) Fuel - exactly what kind of auto gas can I use? Can I literally go to the gas station and pick up 93 Premium and use that?
My local shell doesn't say what level of ethanol is in it. Can I use gas with ethanol?
If I fly locally and bring my own auto gas, what happens on an x-country if I have to mix with 100LL? Do I need a lead
cleaning additive like Decalin? My school uses 100LL without any additive but then has 100 hour inspections.

2) Engine model- I have only got experience with the 912US engine. If I were to buy a Rotax LSA and there was a choice would
the newer 912iS injected model be better long term? The Remos I flew had some issues with balancing the carbs,
or so the CFI said. The engine was quite noisy throttled back, and although CFI didn't say to, another pilot told me
keeping it above 4000rpm in descent and 5000 in cruise was better for the engine, especially if using 100LL.
I must say after flying the 0-200D in the C162, the Rotax , to me, seemed loud, sensitive and more fiddling with
turning the prop to burp the oil, getting access to the oil in the Remos, and the issues with carbs and idle speed.
The engine in the Remos, quit on me twice, fortunately on the ground!

3) Propeller- I've flown both two blade and three blade. To me the three blade looks better although I didn't see much difference
otherwise. The three blade was a nice composite Nu-form. If you had a choice which would you pick?