Sport Pilot Operation in Class B Airspace

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

Dennis

Sport Pilot Operation in Class B Airspace

Post by Dennis »

I was checking into getting an endorsement so I could land at tower-controlled airports and fly in class B airspace operating as a Sport Pilot. I learned that holding a Private Pilot license operating as a Sport Pilot, I don't need that endorsement. I did discover that there is confusion regarding operating in class B. Operations in a number of class B's, such as Chicago's O'Hare, are in fact prohibited according to EAA.

See the EAA site http://www.sportpilot.org/questions/afm ... faqid=1131
The EAA site says"
" In accordance with this section, which is referenced as noted by 14 CFR 91.131, Operations in Class B Airspace, a pilot would need to hold at least a Private Pilot certificate or be a student receiving dual instruction with an authorized instructor in order to operate in these Class B areas. No solo students, sport, or recreational pilot operations are permitted.

Note that since this regulation disallows sport pilot "operations", a private pilot operating at the sport pilot level would not be allowed to fly into this airspace. " Hmmm . . .

I called AOPA and spoke to Erin who advised me that as a Private Pilot operating at the Sport Pilot level I can in fact request entry into Chicago's class B airspace and fly there. These FAA regs for Sport Pilots are sure confusing!

Fly safely.

Dennis
Merlinspop

Re: Sport Pilot Operation in Class B Airspace

Post by Merlinspop »