Sport Pilot with a Denied Medical

Here's the place to ask all of your medical questions. But don't believe everything you read!

Moderator: drseti

pilotgary111

Sport Pilot with a Denied Medical

Post by pilotgary111 »

I am a certificated pilot caught in this Sport Pilot Catch-22 dilemma (whereby my last medical was denied MANY years ago)...
I am really looking forward to flying SP/LSA with an engine attached and not just gliders...

Does anyone have any updates about this unfair Catch-22 issue?
Last edited by pilotgary111 on Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bill

Post by Bill »

Catch-22 dilemma? :?:
--
<i>If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.
Selling Personal Checks and Business Checks helps pay for the 'Coupe.</i> :)
--
FLA-CFI

Post by FLA-CFI »

Yes what catch 22 is this you speak of?
Adam

CFI-SP, Light Sport Repairman - Maintenance, Rotax Cert.
Orlando, FL
rfane

Post by rfane »

Gary,

While you may think the rule is unfair to you, it is what it is. If you were denied a medical, you can't fly as a Sport Pilot. The only hope you have is if you can now pass a medical, or at least get a Special Issuance. Once you have one, you can then let it lapse and fly as a Sport Pilot in the future.
Roger Fane
Former owner of a 2006 Flight Design CTsw
Pawlander

Post by Pawlander »

Or, you can fly a motor-glider.
Jeff Tipton

Post by Jeff Tipton »

Depending on your condition, it may not now be as large of a problem as it was then. They have been many advances as to what the FAA will allow. Many heart conditions and even some forms of diabetes are being allowed now.
tech10002

Post by tech10002 »

If the medical is a big deal, then as previous mentioned, the motor glider option is great if you have the means to purchase one or if you're lucky enough to be near somewhere that rents them.