Fear and Loathing in Base to Final

This forum is for safety-related discussions. Be safe out there!

Moderator: drseti

ussyorktown

Fear and Loathing in Base to Final

Post by ussyorktown »

I am a low hour CTSW driver. When I am at about 61K going into base to final and turning left it is my instinct to left rudder too.
But, when I look down the bubble tells me that I should be pressing down the right rudder!
I've heard so much about stalling with cross controls on base to final.
What is up wit dis? :roll:
zaitcev

Post by zaitcev »

Short term, trust the ball and override your instinct.

Long term, get some practice with a shorter-coupled airplane. DC-3 works best, I heard, but basically any old taildragger. You'll see that it's the best to kick the rudder to make her roll and then return to coordination.

Note that if you are slow enough and the AoA is great enough, all the left-turning tendencies multiply and may be greater than the loss of coordination yaw. I only had something like an hour and a half in CTLS, and I do not remember what it does, but in some airplanes it's the case that you turn left with a bit of right rudder if slow. Except Yak-52, of course :-)
ussyorktown

Post by ussyorktown »

I get it. So when I'm so slow that I am getting my propeller to turn me to the left (like on take off) and I have to kick a little right rudder in as I go from base to final (if the ball tells me so).
Jim Stewart

Post by Jim Stewart »

My CT stalls at 35 knots indicated at flaps 30. I know it's no substitute for sloppy flying, but you're miles away from a stall at 60 knots. Develop a seat-of-the-pants feeling for where the ball is and always make sure that when you turn, the inside wing is lower than the outside.

What you're seeing is called top rudder. The best book in the world to really understand it is the classic "Stick and Rudder".
fredg

Post by fredg »

This is a little more complicated that it seems.