Do you carry an extinguisher?

This forum is for safety-related discussions. Be safe out there!

Moderator: drseti

majorlyannoyed

Do you carry an extinguisher?

Post by majorlyannoyed »

While Halon seems to be the FAA bottle of choice, does anyone carry a dry chem or C02 system? Have you had to use one in the air?

I'm thinking about grabbing a 5 lb dry chem until I can afford Halon; though being temporarily blinded by dust or coughing concerns me, it seems like it would beat the heck out of an in flight BBQ. Pop open the door for ground reference and not worry about a hard landing, as it's the insurance company's plane by then.

Thoughts?
drseti

Re: Do you carry an extinguisher?

Post by drseti »

majorlyannoyed wrote:While Halon seems to be the FAA bottle of choice, does anyone carry a dry chem or C02 system?
Not me; I've been carrying a small Halon bottle for the past 31 years. (I hope it's still good; it still registers full pressure...)
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV
[email protected]
AvSport.org
facebook.com/SportFlying
SportPilotExaminer.US
majorlyannoyed

Post by majorlyannoyed »

Might want to have it serviced. Most bottles under pressure require hydrostatic testing on a regular basis.

That aside, any interactions (even anecdotal) with anyone who's had an inflight fire? At 3-4 thousand feet, even a 1200fpm forward slip is gonna leave you cooking for a while.
drseti

Post by drseti »

majorlyannoyed wrote:even a 1200fpm forward slip is gonna leave you cooking for a while.
Very true. That's why I like to teach steep spirals. Not required by the Sport Pilot PTS (or even Private, for that matter -- this is a Commercial Pilot maneuver). But, in most LSAs, it's the quickest way to get you down, at about 2000 fpm, without picking up excess airspeed. (Kids, adult supervision required. Don't try this at home.)