Solo endorsement

Paul Hamilton is one of the first persons to become a DPE (Designated Pilot Examiner) for sport pilots. As a full-time author and sport pilot expert, he writes books and produces DVD's for Aviation Supplies and Academics (ASA). Now Paul has graciously agreed to answer your questions here. Thanks Paul! For more information about Paul, please visit www.Paul-Hamilton.com and www.Sport-Pilot-Training.com.

Moderators: drseti, Paul Hamilton

Jeff Tipton

Solo endorsement

Post by Jeff Tipton »

My instructor has recently had a surge of new student solo's. For what ever reason he is of the opinion that all first solo's have to be at a controlled field.

Yeah I know. I never heard of such either.

The question is this. He is leaving for regional carriers and as the students did not solo here, what endorsements if any would they need to solo here? Not counting the ninety day endorsement.
scottj

Student Solo

Post by scottj »

As an instructor, I would not sign off another instructor's students for solo until after I had flown with them and done some ground Q & A.

New instructor, new endorsement for solo. Even if from my own flight school.

No, there is no rule that a controlled airport must be used for student pilot solo flights. It is a nice idea, it would kill two training birds with one stone if available, but it is not required for Sport Pilots to solo at a Towered Airport.

The controlled airspace endorsement is a seperate endorsement in your log book from your CFI. It is only needed if you plan to fly in B, C, or D airspace as a Sport Pilot.
Flight training begins on the ground, not in the air.℠
2011 FAASTeam Representative of the Year, Great Lakes Region
http://www.SticknRudder.com
Jeff Tipton

Post by Jeff Tipton »

Scotti I agree with you, it is an interesting concept for the first solo and I agree the new instructor should fly with the student before they sign the student off for solo.