Powered Parachute endorsement for B,C,D airspace

Paul Hamilton is one of the first persons to become a DPE (Designated Pilot Examiner) for sport pilots. As a full-time author and sport pilot expert, he writes books and produces DVD's for Aviation Supplies and Academics (ASA). Now Paul has graciously agreed to answer your questions here. Thanks Paul! For more information about Paul, please visit www.Paul-Hamilton.com and www.Sport-Pilot-Training.com.

Moderators: drseti, Paul Hamilton

rob

Powered Parachute endorsement for B,C,D airspace

Post by rob »

Hi,

I am a brand-new PPC sport pilot. I heard that I can get the B,C,D airspace endorsement with a fixed wing CFI. The CFI will do the flying and I will do the talking on the radio. Is this true?

Most of my town is in D airspace, which is too bad since a lot of that area farmland. It would be a great place to fly a PPC. That's my motivation. The D-airport is in the next town and several miles from where I would like to fly.

Thanks,
Rob
drseti

Re: Powered Parachute endorsement for B,C,D airspace

Post by drseti »

You can be endorsed for controlled airspace only in an aircraft for which you hold piloting privileges. That is because you have to demonstrate far more for the endorsement than merely talking on the radio. My Airspace Ace course curriculum, for example, is posted to:

http://avsport.org/about/airspace.htm

It is my opinion that you need to find a PPC CFI to endorse you, after training you in a PPC (your own or one you rent).
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV
[email protected]
AvSport.org
facebook.com/SportFlying
SportPilotExaminer.US
3Dreaming

Post by 3Dreaming »

drseti wrote: Thu Aug 18, 2022 11:39 am You can be endorsed for controlled airspace only in an aircraft for which you hold piloting privileges.
Paul, what is the regulatory citation for this?
drseti