Flying into a Class C airport of entry

Paul Hamilton is one of the first persons to become a DPE (Designated Pilot Examiner) for sport pilots. As a full-time author and sport pilot expert, he writes books and produces DVD's for Aviation Supplies and Academics (ASA). Now Paul has graciously agreed to answer your questions here. Thanks Paul! For more information about Paul, please visit www.Paul-Hamilton.com and www.Sport-Pilot-Training.com.

Moderators: drseti, Paul Hamilton

lindolo2

Flying into a Class C airport of entry

Post by lindolo2 »

I'm a sport pilot and have a controlled airpace endorsement. I want to fly my LSA into Saint Thomas Island which is Class C. My plane has a transponder and all requirements. The local DPE told us we can not fly into that airport since it is an airport of entry with customs and that we needed at least a Private License with ICAO to fly there. Is it true we can not fly there? It is USA territory. I have looked on the FAR but can't find an answer to this question pertaining to sport pilots.
drseti

Re: Flying into a Class C airport of entry

Post by drseti »

The FARs specifically list 12 Class B airports from which Sport Pilots are excluded. Other than those, a Sport Pilot with the proper endorsements may legally fly into any other public use airport in the US, as long as it can be done day vfr, and no TFRs are in effect.
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV
[email protected]
AvSport.org
facebook.com/SportFlying
SportPilotExaminer.US
3Dreaming

Post by 3Dreaming »

I think a call to the FAA Light Sport division is in order to see if there may be something else is in play.
SportPilot

Post by SportPilot »

Last edited by SportPilot on Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bottleworks

Post by bottleworks »

(I'm gone. Everything deleted! Can't stand the ignorant data spread here).