Sport pilot upgrading to private

Paul Hamilton is one of the first persons to become a DPE (Designated Pilot Examiner) for sport pilots. As a full-time author and sport pilot expert, he writes books and produces DVD's for Aviation Supplies and Academics (ASA). Now Paul has graciously agreed to answer your questions here. Thanks Paul! For more information about Paul, please visit www.Paul-Hamilton.com and www.Sport-Pilot-Training.com.

Moderators: drseti, Paul Hamilton

Nunya

Sport pilot upgrading to private

Post by Nunya »

Hi guys and gals, I am a fairly new sport pilot continuing on to get a private ticket for various reasons. My instructor gave me a solo endorsement for a C172 in February and another one to operate in towered airspace last month. After finishing the night stuff we roughed out a plan of attack to finish and both agreed to get the cross country stuff done, a bit more time under the hood, unusual attitude/spin training, some more time at towered fields, then finish the written and it's test prep time. Weekend before last I did a 2 hour cross country to a field 53nm away and all went fine. Last weekend I scheduled myself to do the long one and the owner of the FBO called me and said I couldn't fly the 172 without an instructor, I politely explained that I had a log book endorsement to solo a 172 . Then I was told "they expire in 30 or 60 day's and when did you get that" ? My reply was that I didn't think it did expire and i got it a couple months ago (didn't think it had been 4 months and after reading it and the FAR that applies it doesn't seem to me it expires ever). Then I was hit with "our insurance requires all student pilots to have an instructor sighn them off for weather" and I explained that I knew that but I am a certificated pilot and that didn't apply to me. Another negative response "your certificate is only light sport" but no big deal I can handle that I guess, said person concludes I can fly since there is an instructor there today