Light Sport-fly12,000 if over 10,000 mountain in area

The Federal Aviation Regulations (also know as FAR's). This is the Bible of aviation, the rules under which we operate. This is where you'll find everything you want to know about pilots and airplanes in the United States. Ask questions. Get answers.

Moderator: drseti

ussyorktown

Light Sport-fly12,000 if over 10,000 mountain in area

Post by ussyorktown »

As a law professor but NOT as a lawyer, I have done the following legal analysis.
Issue: Can a sport pilot fly at 2,000 feet above the terrain within a 50 mile area even if causing pilot to fly at 11,000 feet. § 61.315 (11) At an altitude of more than 10,000 feet MSL or 2,000 feet AGL, whichever is higher.

Yes. The analysis turns on the word "area." If terrain in the moutain area is 9,700 feet then you are in the area of the 9,700 feet terrain. Therefore, if a pilot sees that in a chart square that sport pilot is flying in is adjacent to another chart square that has a 9,700 agl then the pilot may fly fly 11,700 (but of course needs oxygen).

Analysis. The CFR does not define what above "ground level" specifically in the rule which states LS pilot may fly 2,000 above terrain.
The CFR also does not specify nor define what range should be considered when stating "above terrain" nor does it define "average" and in what area shall be considered in the "average" conclusion. It is apparent that a pilot can best and safely fly as to not constantly raising and lowering his altitude in a mountainous region.

Analogy to this issue can be found elsewhere in the CFR: