Rotax 912 80HP Idle RPM

H. Paul Shuch is a Light Sport Repairman with Maintenance ratings for airplanes, gliders, weight shift control, and powered parachutes, as well as an independent Rotax Maintenance Technician at the Heavy Maintenance level. He holds a PhD in Air Transportation Engineering from the University of California, and serves as Director of Maintenance for AvSport of Lock Haven.

Moderator: drseti

SkySteve

Rotax 912 80HP Idle RPM

Post by SkySteve »

I have a Rotax 912A. At what RPM do you set your 80 HP Rotax 912 when the throttle is pulled all the way back (and the engine will still run)? I understand Rotax suggests 2,000 to 2,500 RPM at idle, but I'm referring to when the throttle is all the way back and you are about to land, without killing the engine, or when you want to taxi slowly?
Steve Wilson
Huntsville, UT
Kitfox
Convertible Nose Wheel & Tail Wheel
912A / Warp Drive Prop
eurofoxjames

Post by eurofoxjames »

I’m not a mechanic but…
I would think if you set your RPM to 1800-2000 static on the ground, you should see 2000-2200 respectively when about to land…seems you should see an extra 200-300 rpm over static when landing.
EuroFox N617B
SkySteve

Post by SkySteve »

Eurofoxjames,
What engine do you have in your Euro Fox?
Steve Wilson
Huntsville, UT
Kitfox
912A / Warp Drive Prop
eurofoxjames

Post by eurofoxjames »

Hi Steve
I have the “912 uls” . I would think both engines are similar in RPM just different compressions/size. Mine is set at 1800rpm min on the ground (though I warm mine up at around 2000-2200 rpm.

I would not set yours up below 1800 or not much lower (bad on the gear box). Other know more then I and maybe they will chime in.
EuroFox N617B
SkySteve

Post by SkySteve »

James,