Rotax 912 "Burping the Oil Tank" question

H. Paul Shuch is a Light Sport Repairman with Maintenance ratings for airplanes, gliders, weight shift control, and powered parachutes, as well as an independent Rotax Maintenance Technician at the Heavy Maintenance level. He holds a PhD in Air Transportation Engineering from the University of California, and serves as Director of Maintenance for AvSport of Lock Haven.

Moderator: drseti

SSDriver

Rotax 912 "Burping the Oil Tank" question

Post by SSDriver »

I'm a low time student. I'm a car guy though and run a 950hp Drag car that uses a oil sump system so the concept is not a foriegn one to me.

The Sport Plane I fly has the Rotax 912. Below is part of the POH during Pre-Flight..

"Check oil level and replenish as required. Prior to oil check, turn the propeller by hand several times to pump oil from the engine into the oil
tank, or let the engine idle for 1 minute.

This process is finished when air is returning back to the oil tank and can be noticed by a murmur from the open oil tank.

NOTE: Oil level should be between max. and min. mark of the oil level gauge but must never be below min. mark. Before longer periods of operation ensure that oil level is at least up to midposition.
Difference between max.- and min.- mark = 0,8 l"

Ok, makes sense.. remove the cap, check the dipstick.. remove dipstick. Turn the Prop by hand (CFI says 15 times/quarter turns that is). Sure enough it will normally start to burp. Check the dipstick again.. still reading a little low.. Spin it some more.. still burps. And I think if I continued to spin it 100 times it would still burp!.

My question is.. What is best rule of thumb to use on when you can feel comfortable that it's good to go in terms of burping. Obviously I want my oil level at mid range on the stick but I dont want to over/under fill the oil level either.

My drag car is easy... remove the belt, stick the air ratchet on the pulley and spin it over! LOL