Setting up a simple LSA training business

Finally, a place for sport pilot instructors and/or wannabees to talk about instructing.

Moderator: drseti

Hambone

Setting up a simple LSA training business

Post by Hambone »

I’m an ex-USAF pilot investigating the viability of setting up a small semi-retirement business as a CFI-SP. I admittedly know very little about the industry, but nevertheless have a vague business plan. Feel free to shoot it full of holes!

Here’s my plan: Buy an SLSA (Aerotrek A240, perhaps) with the mobile-hangar trailer (no hangar fees). Train 4 students max per month, $2000 each from start to license. Rent aircraft to ex-students when it’s not being used for training (or for my personal use… this is semi-retirement, after all!)

Expenses: Fuel, oil, insurance, maintenance, marketing, miscellaneous. I may even do the maintenance course so I can do the 100-hour inspections.

Minimize expenses, costs, and keep it simple!
bshort

Post by bshort »

It's a great idea, but there are many variables.

1) You buying the lsa outright or financing?
2) Location and potential business
3) Having a clean, well maintained craft that people want to fly.

The sp trainers I've seen are struggling at best to stay afloat. Winter is especially harsh on the bottom line.

If you make the offer of 2K from start to license you'll probably go broke! 2K is usually the cost of about 32 hours of dual time (wet)..
Hambone

Post by Hambone »

Thanks for the comments!

I realize that my plan is rather simplistic. It's just a starting point.

I'm planning an outright purchase of the aircraft (saving hard now!), and will probably set up base initially in South Florida.
Aerco

Post by Aerco »