Carb synch

Constructive topics of interest related to aviation that do not match the other section descriptions below (as long as it is somewhat related to aviation, flying, learning to fly, sport pilot, light sport aircraft, etc.). Please, advertisements for Viagra will be promptly deleted!"

Moderator: drseti

Warmi
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:35 pm
Location: Frankfort, IL

Carb synch

Postby Warmi » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:56 pm

Got my very first carb balancing done today with my wife as my helper :D

The engine was running pretty rough and once I got the CarbMate connected, it was at the right most limit ( +4 ) at 3000 RPM. Took us about 1 hour , stop , adjust and go etc etc ...
Interestingly , I was only able to synch it up at 1.0 , when going down to 0.5 I couldn't get it closer than +1 ( yellow.) Did the same thing for the idle 1800 speed and in the end the engine runs butter smooth.

In the process I noticed that my radio interference I have been experiencing recently , which was related to engine RPM , is now completely gone - it must have been related to carbs being out of synch.
Flying Sting S4 ( N184WA ) out of Illinois

TimTaylor
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: Carb synch

Postby TimTaylor » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:02 pm

How do you do that? Are you turning mixture screws or adjusting cables or what? I'm just curious.
Commercial Pilot Airplane Single & Multiengine Land; Instrument Airplane; Sport Endorsement Airplane Single Engine Sea; Flight Instructor Airplane Single And Multiengine; Ground Instructor Advanced Instrument

Warmi
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:35 pm
Location: Frankfort, IL

Re: Carb synch

Postby Warmi » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:36 pm

Yeah, you get both screws loose on each side and then adjust the throttle cable (move it forward or back to match the other side of the engine) , tighten the screws , run the engine - until both sides of the engine are balanced.

The CarbMate itself is an electronic version of vacuum gauges with simple light diodes to indicate which side is unbalanced and how far etc ...
Attachments
carbs.jpg
carbs.jpg (80.75 KiB) Viewed 685 times
Flying Sting S4 ( N184WA ) out of Illinois

TimTaylor
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: Carb synch

Postby TimTaylor » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:55 pm

Thanks.
Commercial Pilot Airplane Single & Multiengine Land; Instrument Airplane; Sport Endorsement Airplane Single Engine Sea; Flight Instructor Airplane Single And Multiengine; Ground Instructor Advanced Instrument

User avatar
FastEddieB
Posts: 2465
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Mineral Bluff, GA

Re: Carb synch

Postby FastEddieB » Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:43 pm

Warmi wrote:
In the process I noticed that my radio interference I have been experiencing recently , which was related to engine RPM , is now completely gone - it must have been related to carbs being out of synch.


Hard to see how the two might be related.
Fast Eddie B.
Sky Arrow 600 E-LSA • N467SA
CFI, CFII, CFIME
FastEddieB@mac.com

roger lee
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:47 am
Location: Tucson, Az. Ryan Airfield (KRYN)

Re: Carb synch

Postby roger lee » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:20 pm

When syncing the brass cable stop should be slid back about 1/2” to get it out of the way or it will interfere with the idle setup. Once idle is synced then you move it back up to the stop and tighten the Allen screw. This keeps you from over powering the cable pull and bending the idle stop screw plate. If some day you’d like to try a set of gauges you’ll find them much easier and faster to use. You can diagnose with gauges, but not the electronic devices.
Roger Lee
Tucson, Az.
LSRM-A, Rotax Instructor & Rotax IRC
(520) 574-1080 (Home) Try Home First.
(520) 349-7056 (Cell)

Warmi
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:35 pm
Location: Frankfort, IL

Re: Carb synch

Postby Warmi » Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:10 pm

I am sure you are right but the bottom line here is that you are a professional doing this type of work daily but for me , I am just attempting to do basic maintenance and the benefit of vacuum gauges providing much greater diagnostic info, will be lost on me since I won’t be able to utilize that info anyway.
In other words, if, for whatever reason, I am unable to balance carbs using the Carbmate I will take the plane to professionals like you as at that poin the issues is already probably beyond my pay grade :D
Flying Sting S4 ( N184WA ) out of Illinois

roger lee
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:47 am
Location: Tucson, Az. Ryan Airfield (KRYN)

Re: Carb synch

Postby roger lee » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:10 am

Regardless of which carb sync tool you use my point was the brass cable stop needs to be loosened and back away to properly set the idle otherwise it keeps you from lowering the idle on either carb that you may need to adjust. Then once you're done slide it back in place and lock it down.
Roger Lee
Tucson, Az.
LSRM-A, Rotax Instructor & Rotax IRC
(520) 574-1080 (Home) Try Home First.
(520) 349-7056 (Cell)

User avatar
drseti
Posts: 5804
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Lock Haven PA
Contact:

Re: Carb synch

Postby drseti » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:11 pm

Roger, none of the planes I work on even have that cable stop. Is it a recent addition, on the newer engines?
The opinions posted are those of one CFI, and do not necessarily represent the FAA or its lawyers.
Prof H Paul Shuch
PhD CFII DPE LSRM-A/GL/WS/PPC iRMT
AvSport LLC, KLHV
fly@AvSport.org
AvSport.org
facebook.com/SportFlying
SportPilotExaminer.US

User avatar
ShawnM
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:59 pm
Location: Clearwater, FL / KZPH

Re: Carb synch

Postby ShawnM » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:21 pm

drseti wrote:Roger, none of the planes I work on even have that cable stop. Is it a recent addition, on the newer engines?


I've never seen the cable stop either, what purpose does it serve? ( I know, to stop the cable :mrgreen:) , but could you be more specific? I was thinking of replacing all my cables in November at my annual.

TimTaylor
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: Carb synch

Postby TimTaylor » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:27 pm

Looks like it would prevent the cable from being pulled beyond the point at which something would break or get bent, etc.
Commercial Pilot Airplane Single & Multiengine Land; Instrument Airplane; Sport Endorsement Airplane Single Engine Sea; Flight Instructor Airplane Single And Multiengine; Ground Instructor Advanced Instrument

roger lee
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:47 am
Location: Tucson, Az. Ryan Airfield (KRYN)

Re: Carb synch

Postby roger lee » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:03 am

The cable stop is only on planes that have no other stop. Many planes have stops in the cockpit throttle system. Most of these brass cable stops are on planes with a vernier type throttle. That type has no stop so the pilot can easily pull back too hard and bend the carb idle stop screw plate. It can be bent back in place, but the danger is you'll pull it back so far you'll kill the engine.
For instance RV12 have them. If your plane has no throttle stop then this is HIGHLY recommended that you put one on.
Roger Lee
Tucson, Az.
LSRM-A, Rotax Instructor & Rotax IRC
(520) 574-1080 (Home) Try Home First.
(520) 349-7056 (Cell)

User avatar
ShawnM
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:59 pm
Location: Clearwater, FL / KZPH

Re: Carb synch

Postby ShawnM » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:14 am

roger lee wrote:The cable stop is only on planes that have no other stop. Many planes have stops in the cockpit throttle system. Most of these brass cable stops are on planes with a vernier type throttle. That type has no stop so the pilot can easily pull back too hard and bend the carb idle stop screw plate. It can be bent back in place, but the danger is you'll pull it back so far you'll kill the engine.
For instance RV12 have them. If your plane has no throttle stop then this is HIGHLY recommended that you put one on.


Thanks Roger for the explanation and it makes more sense now why some have it and others, including me, dont. I have hard stops on my throttle handle on my SportCruiser so no cable stops needed.

3Dreaming
Posts: 2345
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:13 pm
Location: noble, IL USA

Re: Carb synch

Postby 3Dreaming » Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:12 am

I just balanced the carbs in a Remos, and it needed them.

Warmi
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:35 pm
Location: Frankfort, IL

Re: Carb synch

Postby Warmi » Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:51 am

The picture that was included was from a Rv12 plane I pulled off of the net- it was meant to be a generic carbs cable setup picture ... :D
My particular plane has the stop installed in the cockpit so I don’t really need anything else.
Flying Sting S4 ( N184WA ) out of Illinois


Return to “Hangar Talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest